Current and Previous Fellows

CRO Office Contacts

JoAnne Hewett
Chief Research Officer (CRO)

Piero Pianetta
Deputy Chief Research Officer

Steve Eglash
Deputy Chief Research Officer

Charlotte Chang
Senior Staff

Queenie Huang

Important Dates

Panofsky Fellowship Application

Deadline: December 15, 2022


LDRD Important Dates:

Please view all upcoming LDRD dates on the LDRD site via the link below.

View full calendar on LDRD site »


Science SLAMs have become popular world-wide, and are events where scientists present their science to a non-expert audience in an entertaining format.

Visit SLAC SLAM! for latest information »

Since the creation of the Panofsky Fellowship award in 1989, there have been twenty eight Fellows performing research at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory in the fields of experimental and theoretical particle physics, astrophysics, and accelerator physics.  Starting with fellowships awarded in 2015, we expanded the scope of the Panofsky Fellowship to encompass the full range of scientific research at SLAC.

Current Fellows

Name Year of Award         Field of Research
Chelsea Bartram 2022 Quantum Information Science
Brian Lenardo 2022 Neutrino
Pete Dahlberg 2021 Biological function
Ben Ofori-Okai 2021 High energy density matter
Auralee Edelen  2020 Machine learning applications to accelerator control
Wai Ling (Kimmy) Wu  2020 Particle astrophysics, cosmology and study of the CMB
Caterina Vernieri  2018 Fundamental forces of nature
Franklin Fuller 2017 Mining big data to understand catalysts
Cornelius Gati 2017 Imaging of biomolecules at atomic-resolution

Previous Fellows

Name Date of Activity Field of Research Present Position
Daniel Gruen  2019 - 2021 Particle astrophysics and cosmology Professor/Chair of Astrophysics, Cosmology, and AI, University Observatory of the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Emma McBride  2018 - 2022 Investigation of warm dense matter using X-ray scattering techniques UKRI Future Leaders Fellow, Queen's University Belfast
Taisia Gorkhover 2016 - 2020 X-ray nanoparticle holography Professor, University of Hamburg
Michael Kagan 2016 - 2021 Experimental Particle Physics Lead Scientist, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Zeeshan Ahmed 2015 - 2020 Particle astrophysics and cosmolog Lead Scientist, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Agostino Marinelli 2015 - 2020 Accelerator science and advanced accelerator research Assistant Professor, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory/Stanford University
Giacinto Piacquadio 2012 - 2015 Experimental Particle Physics Associate Professor, Stony Brook University
Eduardo Rozo 2012 - 2014 Particle Astrophysics Professor, University of Arizona
Joel England 2010 - 2013 Accelerator Physics Lead Scientist, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Yasunobu Uchiyama 2008 - 2013 Particle Astrophysics Professor, Rikkyo University
Andy Haas 2008 - 2011 Experimental Particle Physics Associate Professor, New York University
Ariel Schwartzman 2006 - 2008 Experimental Particle Physics Associate Professor, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory/Stanford University
Saurabh Jha 2006 - 2007 Particle Astrophysics Professor, Rutgers University
Eric Colby 2000 - 2005 Accelerator Physics Sr. Technical Advisor, Office of High Energy Physics, Office of Science, DOE
Colin Jessop 1998 - 2003 Experimental Particle Physics Professor, University of Notre Dame
Frank Zimmermann 1997 - 1999 Accelerator Physics Senior Scientist, Center for European Nuclear Research (CERN)
Tor Raubenheimer 1994 - 1997 Accelerator Physics Professor, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory/Stanford University
Emlyn Hughes 1992 - 1996 Experimental Particle Physics Professor, Columbia University
Lance Dixon 1989 - 1992 Elementary Particle Theory Professor, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory/Stanford University