Colloquium Event

The National MagLab – Overview and HEP Partnerships


The National High Magnetic Field Laboratory (NHMFL or MagLab) is a facility at Florida State University, the University of Florida, and Los Alamos National Laboratory that performs research at high magnetic fields in materials physics, chemistry, geochemistry, and biology.  It is the only magnet Lab in the US and is the largest with the highest fields, and is the most diverse of the nine magnet labs in the world.  Our MagLab has seven user facilities and two laboratories – with the Applied Superconductivity Laboratory having been intimately involved with the high-energy physics community for decades in the research and development of superconducting materials: HEP has been the MAJOR driver for large-sale superconducting applications since the 1960s (Nb:Ti bubble chambers).  After presenting an overview of the broad science at the MagLab, and our successes in education and outreach, I will present some of our triumphs in SC materials, including our most recent contribution to the Hi-Luminosity Upgrade of the LHC with superconducting Nb3Sn magnets.  If time, I will present our research on the possible use of high-Tc materials in synchrotrons; and why it is important. 

Speaker Name

Laura Greene

Speaker Institution

National MagLab & Florida State University

Speaker Information

Laura Greene is the chief scientist at the National MagLab and the Francis Eppes Professor of Physics at Florida State University. Her research is in experimental condensed matter physics with a focus on quantum materials, including topological matter and high-temperature superconductors. As the 2017 president of the American Physical Society (APS), Laura’s theme was science diplomacy and human rights. She serves on the Board of Directors of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and is a vice president of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics. A champion for diversity, she works with teams that promote the success of women and young scientists, particularly in developing countries. She plays many leadership advisory roles for funding agents and institutions and recently was a co-chair of the National Academy’s consensus report: “Frontiers of Materials Research:  A Decadal Survey.”

Laura is a member of the US National Academy of Science, and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Institute of Physics (UK), the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the APS. Her recognitions include a Guggenheim fellowship, the Lawrence Award for Materials Research, and the Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award. She very recently received the APS Five Sigma Physicist Award for Advocacy.  Laura has co-authored over 200 publications and presented almost 600 invited and plenary talks.


through PST


Kavli Auditorium